About the Lonely Shoe Tour

Hello. The Lonely Shoe Tour is Xeno's 15,000-mile journey to each of the lower 48 states.

This trip is based on Randy Olson's calculations which found an optimal 13,699-mile route through all 48 states hitting 50 major landmarks. Xeno adjusted it (see itinerary below) to make driving realistic (6 hrs/day max).

Xeno started his three months on the road in California, heading north in a white Toyota Prius. During the trip he will be adding content to the Lonely Shoe Project (About) and interviewing people in each state about life satisfaction and enjoyment.

Basic Route Map

Help make history: If you or someone you know has a couch or room where Xeno could stay at or near one of the stops below, contact: xeno735@yahoo.com. Stops with the thankful hands or praying monk icon (πŸ™) are already covered. Those stops with a bed icon (πŸ›Œ) are where he could use a place to stay. Click the bed to email, or use the address above.

The hours listed are the approximate drive time from the previous stop, in case you'd like to try this US pilgrimage yourself some day.

Follow along: Click each date for that day's blog.

				
				
				

=== US Tour Itinerary and Blog, the Lower 48 States ===
				

πŸ™ June 1 - Wilbur Hot Springs, California

πŸ™ June 2 - Chico, California, 2 HRS

πŸ™ June 3 - Redding, California, 1.5 HRS 

πŸ™ June 4 - Mount Shasta, California, 1.5 HRS

πŸ™ June 5 - Mount Shasta, California

🏑 June 6 - Davis, California 


πŸ™ Sun June 12 - 🌀 Ashland, Oregon, 5 HRS

πŸ™ Mon June 13 - 🌀 Portland, Oregon, 5.5 HRS
   Sight: Columbia River Gorge
          National Senic Area, 45 min from Portland.


πŸ™ Tue June 14  - 🌀 Kennewick, Washington, 4 HRS

πŸ™ Wed June 15  - 🌀 Kennewick, Washington

πŸš™ Thu June 16  - 🌀 Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, 3 HRS 


πŸš™ Fri June 17   - 🌀 West Glacier, Montana, 4.5 HRS

πŸš™ Sat June 18  - 🌀 Malta, Montana, 5.5 HRS

🏨 Sun June 19  - 🌀 Williston, North Dakota, 5 HRS
   See: Fort Union Trading Post


πŸš™ Mon June 20  - 🌀 Bowman, North Dakota, 3.5 HRS

πŸš™ Tue June 21  - 🌀 Keystone, South Dakota, 4 HRS
   See: Mount Rushmore National Monument
  

πŸš™ Wed June 22  - 🌀 Keystone, South Dakota


🏨 Thu June 23  - 🌀 Kennebec, South Dakota, 4.5 HRS

⛺️ Fri June 24  - 🌀 Royal, Nebraska, 3.5 HRS
   See: Ashfall Fossil Beds State Park


πŸ™ Sat June 25  - 🌀 Austin, Minnesota, 4.5 HRS

πŸš™ Sun June 26  - 🌀 St Paul, Minnesota, 3.5 HRS
   See: Fort Snelling
 

πŸš™ Mon June 27 - 🌀 Spring Green, Wisconsin, 4.5 HRS
   See: Frank Lloyd Wright Ctr
   

⛺️ Tue June 28 - 🌀 Des Moines, Iowa, 4.5 HRS
   See: Terrace Hill, aka Hubbell or Iowa
   Governor's Mansion


πŸ™ Wed June 29 - 🌀 Leavenworth, Kansas, 3.5 HRS

πŸ™ Thu June 30 - 🌀 Wichita, Kansas, 3.5 HRS

πŸ™ Fri July 1 - 🌀 Wichita, Kansas

πŸ™ Sat July 2 - 🌀 Wichita, Kansas

πŸš™ Sun July 3 - 🌀 Kansas City, Missouri, 3.5 HRS

⛺️ Mon July 4 - 🌀 St. Louis, Missouri, 4.5 HRS

⛺️ Tue July 5 - 🌀 Springfield, Illinois, 2.5 HRS
   See: Lincoln Home
   
⛺️ Wed July 6 - 🌀 French Lick, Indiana, 5 HRS
    See: West Baden Springs

	

πŸš™ Thu July 7 - 🌀 Cave City, Kentucky, 3 HRS
   See: Mammoth Cave National Park


πŸš™ Fri July 8 - 🌀 Cincinnati, Ohio, 3.5 HRS
   See: Spring Grove Cemetary
 

⛺️ Sat July 9 - 🌀 Detroit, Michigan, 4.5 HRS

⛺️ Sun July 10 - 🌀 Cleveland, Ohio, 3.5 HRS

πŸ™ Mon July 11 - 🌀 Springville, New York, 3.5 HRS

⛺️ Tue July 12 - 🌀 Castleton, Vermont, 6.5 HRS

⛺️ Wed July 13 - 🌀 Carroll, New Hampshire, 3 HRS 

⛺️ Thu July 14 - 🌀 Bangor, Maine 4.5 HRS

πŸ™ Fri July 15 - 🌀 Bourne, Massachusetts, 5.5 HRS
   See: USS Constitution
   

πŸ™ Sat July 16 - 🌀 Bourne, Massachusetts,  2 HRS
   See: Newport Mansions, Newport, Rhode Island
 

πŸ™ Sun July 17 - 🌀 Bourne, Massachusetts, 2.5 HRS
   See: Mark Twain museum, Hartford, Connecticut
   

πŸ™ Mon July 18 - 🌀 New York City, New York, 4.5 HRS
   See: Ellis island, Statue of Liberty


πŸ™ Tue July 19 - 🌀 New York City, New York


⛺️ Wed July 20 - 🌀 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 2.5 HRS
   See: Liberty Bell


⛺️ Thu July 21 - 🌀 Cape May, New Jersey, 2 HRS

⛺️ Fri July 22 - 🌀 New Castle, Delaware, 2.5 HRS
 

⛺️ Sat July 23 - 🌀 Annapolis, Maryland, 2 HRS

πŸ™ Sun July 24 - 🌀 Burke, VA, 1.5 HRS
   See: The White House, Washington Monument, 
   Lincoln Memorial. Washington, DC


πŸ™ Mon July 25 - 🌀 Springfield, Virginia, 1 HRS
   See: Smithsonian Air and Space Museum


πŸ™ Tue July 26 - 🌀 Springfield, Virginia  

   See: Pentagon, Holocaust Museum,
   Natural History Museum, 
   National Botanical Gardens, 
   US Capitol, Washington DC


πŸ™ Wed July 27 - 🌀 Reston, Virginia, 3.5 HRS
   See: Supreme Court, Washington DC
   

πŸš™ Thu July 28 - 🌀 Covington, Virginia, 4.5 HRS
   See: Lost World Caverns, Lewisburg, West Virginia



πŸš™ Fri July 29 - 🌀 Fort Mill, South Carolina, 4 HRS
  See: Charlotte, North Carolina.
 

⛺️ Sat July 30 - 🌀 Ladson, North Carolina, 4 HRS
   See: Charlston, South Carolina.


πŸš™ Sun July 31 - 🌀 Folkston, Georgia, 4.5 HRS
   See: Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge


πŸ™ Mon August 1 - 🌀 Cocoa Beach, Florida, 4 HRS
   See: Cape Canaveral, Warbird Museum


πŸš™ Tue August 2 - 🌀 DeFuniak Springs, Florida, 6.5 HRS
   See: Kennedy Space Ctr.


🏨 Wed August 3 - 🌀 Mobile, Alabama, 4 HRS
   See: Maritime Museum


⛺️ Thu August 4 - 🌀 New Orleans, Louisiana, 3 HRS
   See: French Quarter
   
  
🏨 Fri August 5 - 🌀 Grenada, Mississippi, 3.5 HRS
   See: US War Memorial, Vicksberg, Mississippi

⛺️ Sat August 6 - 🌀 Memphis, Tennessee, 4 HRS
   See: Graceland

πŸš™ Sun August 7 - 🌀 Little Rock, Arkansas, 2.5 HRS
   See: Toltec Mounds
 
 
⛺️ Mon August 8 - 🌀 Sulphur, Oklahoma, 6 HRS
   See: Chickasaw National Recreation Area

πŸ™ Tue August 9 - 🌀 Austin, Texas, 3 HRS
   See: Dallas, Texas



πŸš™ Wed August 10 - 🌀 San Antonio, Texas, 3.5 HRS
   See: The Alamo


πŸš™ Thu August 11 - 🌀 Whites City, New Mexico, 7 HRS
   See: The Riverwalk, San Antonio, Texas 

πŸš™ Fri August 12 - 🌀 Bottomless Lakes, New Mexico 2.5 HRS
   See: Carlsbad Caverns National 
   Park, New Mexico

πŸš™ Sat August 13 - 🌀 Roswell, New Mexico, 2.5 HRS

πŸš™ Sun August 14 - 🌀 Ojo Caliente, New Mexico, 5 HRS

⛺️ Mon August 15 - 🌀 Cripple Creek, Colorado, 4 HRS
   See: Pikes Peak

   
πŸš™ Tue August 16 - 🌀 Rawlins, Wyoming, 5 HRS

⛺️ Wed August 17 - 🌀 Yellowstone National Park,
   Wyoming, 5.5 HRS


⛺️ Thu August 18 - 🌀 Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming


πŸš™ Fri August 19 - 🌀 Craters of the Moon National 
   Monument, Idaho, 5.5 HRS

πŸ™ Sat August 20 - 🌀 Salt Lake City, Utah, 4.5 HRS

⛺️ Sun August 21 - 🌀 Bryce Canyon City, Utah, 4.5 HRS


⛺️ Mon August 22 Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona, 5.5 HRS

   See: Hoover Dam, Nevada, 4.5 HRS
   

🏨 Tue August 23 - 🌀 Las Vegas, Nevada, 5.5 HRS

🏨 Wed August 24 - 🌀 Las Vegas, Nevada

   See: The Las Vegas Strip
   
   
πŸš™ Thu August 25 - 🌀 Alamo, Nevada, 2 HRS

🏨 Fri August 26 - 🌀 Rachel, California, 5 HRS 
   See: The Little A'Le'Inn 

πŸš™ Sat August 27 - 🌀 Mono Lake, California, 4 HRS
  See: Yosemite National Park
   

πŸ™ Sun August 28 - 🌀 South Lake Tahoe, California, 2.5 HRS

πŸ™ Mon August 29 - 🌀 Sacramento, California, 2.5 HRS
   See: Capitol Building, Old Sacramento, 
   Railroad Museum
   
   
🏑 Tue August 30 - 🌀 Davis, California, 1 HRS


=== Quick List of Cities on Tour, by State ======

Alabama (Mobile)
Alaska (*Not on tour)
Arizona (Grand Canyon National Park)
Arkansas (Little Rock)
California (Lee Vining, Yosemite Nat'l Park, 
                  South Lake Tahoe, Sacramento)
Colorado (Colorado Springs)
Connecticut (Hartford)
Delaware (New Castle)
Florida (Cape Canaveral, Tallahassee)
Georgia (Folkston)
Hawaii (*Not on tour)
Idaho (Coeur d'Alene, Craters of the Moon)
Illinois (Springfield)
Indiana (French Lick)
Iowa (Des Moines)
Kansas (Levenworth, Wichita, Kansas City)
Kentucky (Cave City)
Louisiana (New Orleans)
Maine (Southwest Harbor)
Maryland (Annapolis)
Massachusetts (Boston)
Michigan (Detroit)
Minnesota (St Paul)
Mississippi (Vicksburg)
Missouri (St. Louis)
Montana (West Glacier, Chinook)
Nebraska (Royal)
Nevada (Las Vegas, Rachel)
New Hampshire (Carroll)
New Jersey (Cape May)
New Mexico (Carlsbad Caverns National 
                       Park, Roswell)
New York (Rochester, New York City)
North Carolina (Nags Head, Charlotte)
North Dakota (Williston)
Ohio (Cincinnati, Cleveland)
Oklahoma (Sulphur)
Oregon (Ashland)
Pennsylvania (Philadelphia)
Rhode Island (Newport)
South Carolina (Charleston)
South Dakota (Keystone)
Tennessee (Memphis)
Texas (Dallas, San Antonio, Ozona)
Utah (Salt Lake City, Bryce Canyon City)
Vermont (Shelburne)
Virginia (Mount Vernon, Richmond)
Washington (Kennewick)
West Virginia (Lewisburg)
Wisconsin (Spring Green)
Wyoming (Sinclair, Yellowstone National Park)


=== Food Cost Estimate =================
Healthy homemade MREs Cooked weekly: 
Greens, healthy fats, good carbs, fruit, protein. 
Plus eating out (expensive part). 
$26/day = $800/mo 
= $2,400 

=== Gas Cost Estimate ==================
15,000 miles in a car that gets 40 mpg = 
375 gallons of gas. $2.86/gal is a high est
for US gas and at that price. = $1,073 
3 oil changes $65 * 3 = $195
= $1,268


=== Tolls/Fees Estimate =================
$80 National Park Annual Pass
$350 other tolls & entrance fees 
= $430

=== Lodging Estimate ==================
90 days at $80/night 
= $7,200

=== TOTAL Trip Budget =================
$11,298.