Erase iPhone and Restore = All apps and folders GONE. Restore in iTunes is not Restore. Restore is “Partially Restore”

By | August 9, 2012

Erase iPhone and Restore = All apps and folders GONE. Restore in iTunes is not Restore. Restore is Don’t let an Apple Care rep lie and tell you that backing up and then restoring your phone will get everything back. It won’t.

If you Backup, Sync and Transfer purchases in iTunes first, then Erase all content and settings in your iPhone, then restore, all of your purchased apps and the hours (or days) you spent organizing them into folders will be lost, forever.

Wiping my phone was what Apple recommended, but it has not helped because the real problems are bugs in the iOS software (yes, I have the latest OS and iTunes):

– my phone won’t remember my WiFi connection

– pictures sometimes crash the entire phone when I attempt to edit them.

Want to completely waste a day? Apple is here to help. Restore in iTunes is not really Restore. Restore is actually “Partially Restore”. If I’d known that, I would not have wasted my time wiping the phone.

0 thoughts on “Erase iPhone and Restore = All apps and folders GONE. Restore in iTunes is not Restore. Restore is “Partially Restore”

  1. Fred Killer

    Damn, sorry but I could have warned you, as the last time I upgraded the OS on my iPhone4 before the latest update available, it permanently wiped my voice memo’s and notes and probably a lot more that I can’t remember I had and so fortunately, I don’t miss.

    I refuse to update to the latest version. Never again. All I hear about are bugs and that “You should wait 6 months after an update is released so they can iron out the bugs. Only a fool would install an update straight away.” etc.

    Yeah, thanks! That’s really great advice!

  2. Fred Killer

    Btw, regarding the Wifi connection, it’s probably the router that needs to be re-installed. Mine ‘forgot’ the phone until I re-installed the router software.

    I think!

Leave a Reply